Final: Mumbai Indians v Rising Pune Supergiant at Hyderabad (Deccan), May 21, 2017

Final: Mumbai Indians v Rising Pune Supergiant at Hyderabad (Deccan), May 21, 2017 

Mumbai coach Mahela Jayawardene said they had their senior bowlers in mind when they elected to bat first.

Tendulkar: Amazing, simply amazing. The first half wasn’t good for us. But we thought right and the performance followed. Some amazing bowling and great fielding in the pressure situations.

Mumbai Indians 129/8 (20/20 ov)
Rising Pune Supergiant 128/6 (20/20 ov)
Mumbai Indians won by 1 run

Rayudu: I couldn’t contribute with the bat, but that catch will remain with me. It was surpising to see this sort of a pitch in Hyderabad (which is his home ground).

Pollard: The team has come together many times and that’s what happened tonight. Big up to this man here, Krunal, he batted nicely and kept us in the game.

Krunal: When the wicket were falling, I wanted to play 20 overs because I was the only batsman. I knew if I stayed till the 19th-20th over I could attack.

Johnson to Christian, 2 runs, OUT, Mumbai have won the IPL! J Suchith fumbles at deep square leg but recovers quickly to get a throw in and run them out before they can take a third. Mitch bowled down the leg side again, bowled it short of yorker length again. Christian swatted across the line but it wasn’t off the middle. It went between deep square and deep midwicket. Suchith ran to his left, fumbled the pick up, pushed it a few yards in front and forced himself to recover. Gave Pune a slight sniff at taking this to the Super Over, but the batsmen couldn’t come back quickly enough. The throw was already in as Christian finished the second run. They stood no chance as they took off for the third. The throw was perfect, on the bounce, on top of the stumps.

DT Christian run out 4 (2b 0x4 0x6) SR: 200.00

Mumbai Indians 1 Lendl Simmons, 2 Parthiv Patel (wk), 3 Rohit Sharma (capt), 4 Ambati Rayudu, 5 Krunal Pandya, 6 Kieron Pollard, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Karn Sharma, 9 Mitchell Johnson, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Lasith Malinga

Rising Pune Supergiant 1 Ajinkya Rahane, 2 Rahul Tripathi, 3 Steven Smith (capt), 4 Manoj Tiwary, 5 MS Dhoni, 6 Daniel Christian, 7 Washington Sundar, 8 Lockie Ferguson, 9 Adam Zampa, 10 Jaydev Unadkat, 11 Shardul Thakur.

Updated: May 21, 2017 — 6:39 pm

Leave a Reply

CricZ © 2017